Once is Not Enough

I am definitely a freak. Disposable stuff freaks me out. Whenever I get to a party or a get-together I don’t really know what to do.

Of course I’m not allergic to plastic. Rather, I simply cannot stand the idea of something being used just that one time. At the parties we eat on disposable plates with disposable cutlery and drink from disposable glases. My – and I’m sure also your – grandparents would probably cry seeing that kind of waste.

But really, isn’t the disposable lifestyle just about what is common today? I mean, we pick up those little cups from the water dispenser and throw them way. We pick up a cup of coffee on the go and throw it away. We buy a bottle of water and throw it away. We buy stuff and pack it in plastic bags and yes – throw them away (and it’s not very different with mobile phones and computers).

I deny myself to this kind of landfill behaviour. I have a simple rule in life which I would like to share with you: Once is not enough. For whatever I buy, I try to consider it. That is why I opt for unpacked things like bulk-food or simply vegetables and fruit. It takes a little planning to get around disposable plastic, like for example bringing you own tools from home, but it’s really not that hard.

Luckily, I am not alone with this neurosis. I have got the Plastic Pollution Coalition on my side and with them a bunch of surfers, hikers and other people who care about our environment. Visit their site to take the pledge to refuse: “Disposable plastics are the greatest source of plastic pollution. Plastic bags, straws, bottles, utensils, lids, cups and so many others offer a small convenience but remain forever.  REFUSE disposable plastics! Follow the “4 Rs” of sustainable living: Refuse, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.”

The Plastic Pollution Coalition is trying to push our awareness on all the plastic we are using with two goals:

  • End the global dependence on disposable plastic, the primary source of plastic pollution.
  • Reduce the overall global plastic footprint for individuals, businesses and organizations.

They use campaigns and education to reach these goals as well as encourage alternatives of plastic. Personally, I have another suggestion to make which is more on a policy level (the design might still might need some work on it):

Obviously we could experiment also with pictures let’s say of the lungs of the earth being destroyed to extract oil to make plastic of; or of our oceans being filled up with plastic and the fish dying because of that, etc. I would imagine having these prints on all disposable products. Would you support that kind of policy? (I somehow feel it would also help me with my party problem).

Picture by Neil & mhaithaca, merci.

5 thoughts on “Once is Not Enough

  1. Pingback: Paint It Green | Kosmos 9

Leave a Reply

