Green Thailand

Organic food, vegetarianism and green lifestyle are still not so common in Thailand.

That things are about to change I figured out at the 5th Green Fair at Chulalongkorn University, which was held from 9-12 February.

The Bangkok Post – the biggest Thai newspaper in English – wrote about the Fair: “We can all do our bit to save the world by living an environmentally-friendly existence. For those thinking of adopting a greener lifestyle, the place to visit is Chulalongkorn University’s Faculty of Arts, venue for the fifth annual Green Fair.”

Let me share some impressions with you:

The classes on organic gardening were all in Thai, so I did not visit them.
The range of products sold was quite small but still I managed to get some addresses of organic markets in Bangkok, if you’re interested contact me!I wouldn’t believe it but this really was vegetarian even without fish-sauce! Unfortunately, the veggie-options in Bangkok are often not Thai or not fully vegetarian/vegan.

The fair was definitely a good starting point for the quest of the green in Bangkok. I’ll will keep you updated. And P.S. I also got my blood tested, so far I’m not in danger because of consuming too many agrochemicals (or at least that’s what I think she said).

4 thoughts on “Green Thailand

  1. For many years when I told people I was vegan they replied “So no red meat. But fish is OK, right?” Some people associate vegetarianism only with avoiding direct consumption of “red meat,” thinking that fish, poultry, and animal byproducts are not “red meat” so must be acceptable for even vegetarians to consume. In some cases national food safety and food labeling laws do not require that products labeled as vegetarian or vegan be 100% free of animal products and byproducts. For example, Taiwan produces and exports many commercial meat substitutes, but because such legal issues exist in Taiwan there are vegetarians here who refuse to consume Taiwanese mock meats.

    The only way to be sure a product (market or restaurant) contains no animal products / byproducts is to have samples privately tested at an independent laboratory. Such tests can be very enlightening…

    • That’s exactly the point Rob, the hidden ingredients. That’s why I prefer cooking with wholefoods at home. Unfortunately, I don’t have a kitchen here in Thailand so I have less strict rules, simply because it’s impossible otherwise (I don’t read thai ingredients plus like you say, they don’t list them all..). But it will be nice to go back and cook 100% vegan thai dishes!

  2. I can only admire Vegans from a distance. It’s a bridge too far for me personally. Though more and more people seem to be embracing it. Semi-vegetarian is as far as I am able to go at the mo. And yes . . .the poisons and lies that get put into our food at all sorts of places is more than just a worry. Love & Light to you Rahel for taking on a vital area for humanity. What we eat really is fundamental

    • I think semi-vegetarian is a very good choice already, maybe one day you even want to go semi-vegan 😀 Thanks for your kind words and for stepping by.

Leave a Reply

